WINDSOR TOWN FORUM

TUESDAY, 15 NOVEMBER 2022

PRESENT: Councillors Sayonara Luxton, David Hilton, Shamsul Shelim, Jon Davey, Neil Knowles, Helen Price, Amy Tisi, Wisdom Da Costa, David Coppinger, John Bowden and Julian Sharpe (Chairman)

Also in attendance: Councillor Carole Da Costa, Councillor Karen Davies and Councillor Gurpreet Bhangra

Officers: Oran Norris-Browne, Paul Roach and Julia White

ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN FOR THE DURATION OF THE MEETING

Oran Norris-Browne, Democratic Services Officer, opened the meeting by stating that apologies had been received from both the Chairman and the Vice-Chairman of the forum. Therefore, the first item on the agenda was to elect a Chairman for the duration of the meeting. Councillor Hilton was also not currently present.

Councillor Luxton proposed that Councillor Bowden be Chairman for the duration of the meeting. This was seconded by Councillor Coppinger.

A named vote was taken.

Election of Councillor Bowden as Chairman for the duration of the meeting (Motion)		
Councillor Sayonara Luxton	For	
Councillor David Hilton	No vote recorded	
Councillor Shamsul Shelim	For	
Councillor Jon Davey	Against	
Councillor Neil Knowles	Against	
Councillor Helen Price	Against	
Councillor Amy Tisi	Against	
Councillor Wisdom Da Costa	Against	
Councillor David Coppinger	For	
Councillor John Bowden	Abstain	
Councillor Julian Sharpe	For	
Rejected		

The result was 4 for, 5 against and 1 abstention, so the motion fell.

Councillor Knowles then proposed that Councillor Davey be Chairman for the duration of the meeting. This was seconded by Councillor Tisi.

A named vote was taken.

Election of Councillor Davey as Chairman for the duration of the meeting (Motion)		
Councillor Sayonara Luxton	Against	
Councillor David Hilton	No vote recorded	
Councillor Shamsul Shelim	Against	
Councillor Jon Davey	For	
Councillor Neil Knowles	For	
Councillor Helen Price	For	
Councillor Amy Tisi	For	
Councillor Wisdom Da Costa	For	
Councillor David Coppinger	Against	
Councillor John Bowden	Against	
Councillor Julian Sharpe	Against	
Drawn		

The result was 5 for and 5 against, so this motion also fell.

Oran Norris-Browne then stated that if the forum could not elect a Chairman for the duration of the meeting, then the meeting would have to be adjourned.

Councillor Knowles proposed that Councillor Price be Chairman for the duration of the meeting. This was seconded by Councillor Tisi.

A named vote was taken.

Election of Councillor Price as Chairman for the duration of the meeting (Motion)		
Councillor Sayonara Luxton	Against	
Councillor David Hilton	No vote recorded	
Councillor Shamsul Shelim	Against	
Councillor Jon Davey	For	
Councillor Neil Knowles	For	
Councillor Helen Price	Abstain	
Councillor Amy Tisi	For	
Councillor Wisdom Da Costa	For	
Councillor David Coppinger	Against	
Councillor John Bowden	Against	
Councillor Julian Sharpe	Against	
Rejected		

The result was 4 for, 5 against and 1 abstention, so the motion fell.

Councillor Coppinger then proposed that Councillor Sharpe be Chairman for the duration of the meeting. This was seconded by Councillor Luxton.

A named vote was taken.

Election of Councillor Sharpe as Chairman for the duration of the meeting (Motion)		
Councillor Sayonara Luxton	For	
Councillor David Hilton	No vote recorded	
Councillor Shamsul Shelim	For	
Councillor Jon Davey	For	
Councillor Neil Knowles	Against	
Councillor Helen Price	Against	
Councillor Amy Tisi	For	
Councillor Wisdom Da Costa	Against	
Councillor David Coppinger	For	
Councillor John Bowden	For	
Councillor Julian Sharpe	For	
Carried		

Councillor Tisi and Councillor Davey stated that they wished for the meeting to continue and to not be adjourned before they casted their votes.

The result was 7 for and 3 against, so the motion passed.

AGREED: That Councillor Sharpe be elected Chairman for the duration of the meeting.

Oran Norris-Browne asked the Chairman to commence with the meeting, however there was no response. It was established that there was potentially a poor internet connection, which did not allow the Chairman to proceed.

Councillor Carole DaCosta said that surely if the Chairman was not prepared or able to chair the meeting, then a new Chairman should be elected. Oran Norris-Browne confirmed that if the Chairman was not able to conduct his duty as Chairman due to a bad internet connection, then another Chairman would have to be elected until Councillor Sharpe's internet connection became stable.

Councillor Knowles proposed a motion that the meeting be adjourned. This was seconded by Councillor Davey.

A named vote was taken.

To adjourn the meeting (Motion)		
Councillor Sayonara Luxton	For	
Councillor David Hilton	For	
Councillor Shamsul Shelim	For	
Councillor Jon Davey	For	
Councillor Neil Knowles	For	
Councillor Helen Price	For	
Councillor Amy Tisi	For	
Councillor Wisdom Da Costa	For	
Councillor David Coppinger	For	
Councillor John Bowden	For	
Councillor Julian Sharpe	No vote recorded	
Carried		

AGREED UNANIMOUSLY: That the meeting be adjourned at 6.50pm.

The meeting, which began at 6.35 pm, finished at 6.50 pm		
	CHAIRMAN	
	DATE	